Three Guys Named Mike: Three Times Bravo!

Three Guys Named Mike

It’s with a great pleasure that I recently bought a 16 DVDs box set. All classics, but not very popular ones like The Wizard of Oz or Casablanca. Anyway, after watching some trailers and read a little about these films, one of them grabbed my attention: Three Guys Named Mike, a film directed by Charles Walter in 1951. It seemed to me that it was a fun and light comedy, just what I needed to watch as it was already 10 O’Clock pm. In a way, I was exciting about seeing a new movie, but, in an other way, I didn’t have bid expectations about it. Well, let me tell you that it was a beautiful surprise!

Jane Wyman plays the role of Marcy Lewis, a young a new flight attendant in an american airline, who meets three guys named “Mike”: Mike Jamison (Howard Keel), an airplane pilot, Mike Lawrence (Van Johnson), a scientist and Mike Tracy (Barry Sullivan), a publicist. Of course, the three Mikes feel in love with the pretty Marcy, but the young girl can only choose one of them! Of course, we have our preferences.

This is not an oscar-winning movie, we can all agree on that, but it’s an underrated one and worth watching one too. You can see there a delightful romantic comedy with a fine and fair humour. I had the pleasure, thanks to this film, to discover the actress Jane Wyman. I always love to discover new actors and new actresses. Before I saw this movie, I knew who she was, but I didn’t really care about her. It will be a pleasure now to see some of her others films. I can think of The Lost Weekend, Stage Fright, Johnny Belinda, etc. What I also love about this brilliant film, is that we perfectly recognize the Charles Walter’s humour (who also directed High Society in 1956). A nice and easy humour.

I wrote this text so you can have interest for this film, because it’s a real treat and I can’t wait to watch it an other time! So, see it, and I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

7 thoughts on “Three Guys Named Mike: Three Times Bravo!

Leave a Reply

