A Message for Joan Fontaine

Today, I’m happy to celebrate the 97th birthday of the incredibly talented actress Joan Fontaine

As I am a big Hitchcock’s fan, it’s the movies Rebecca (1940) and Suspicion (1941) that made me discover this star. Joan Fontaine is the only actress who ever won an Oscar for a Hitchcock’s film. That was for her clever performance in Suspicion. She was also nominated for Rebecca and The Constant Nymph (Edmund Goulding, 1943), but didn’t win. I also had the chance to witness her talent in Jane Eyre, September Affair, The Affairs of Susan and The Bigamist. My favourite performance of her is the one in Rebecca. She was perfect as Mrs. De Winter.

Joan Fontaine was really like an angel. I saw some interviews with her and it’s the type of person you want to be friend with. She seemed to be kind and peaceful too. Joan was well known for her love of animals. For her, they were marvelous friends. We also know Joan Fontaine for being Olivia de Havilland’s sister, another great star. Unfortunately, there always was a big rivalry between the two sisters, but let’s not talk about it. I don’t want to talk about sad things on Joan’s birthday.

Joan left us on December 15, 2013. Her memory will always be in our hearts. Wherever she is now, let’s honour her the best we can on this beautiful day.

Happy birthday Joan Fontaine! 🙂

Joan Fontaine

4 thoughts on “A Message for Joan Fontaine

  1. Hi, Virginie! LetĂ­cia from Facebook here. I read your blog and liked it very much, especially the post with your top 10 movies and the one in which you say how you got intererested in classics. Being a 21 year old lady, I face th same weird reaction when people ask “why do you like old movies?” (and I started watching them when I was 16).
    I’ll be back! Keep on writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

