The Perfect Movie

Citizen Kane

It’s quite a challenge to determine what is the best movie of all times. Today, I want to propose you my way to choose it.

The best movie is a perfect movie. Let me explain. It’s perfect in every ways: the screenplay, the direction, the actors’ performances, the originality of the story, the cinematography, the music, ect. The perfect movie is not necessarily your favourite movie. It’s not a movie that you will necessarily love, but that you will admire. It’s a movie that had an important impact in cinema’s history, that people remember it for good or, sometimes, less good reasons.

Vertigo

Of course, even if I presented you my way to choose the perfect movie, we can have many different opinions on what is the best movie ever. The American Film Institute and some other cinematic institution chose Citizen Kane (Orson Welles, 1941) as the best movie ever. Even if it’s not my favourite movie, I learnt very interesting stuff about it and agree that it’s a brilliant movie. In fact, it fits perfectly in my definition of the best movie of all times. If it’s not the best movie of all times, it can surely be in the top ten. Since a few years, there’s actually some competition between Citizen Kane and Hitchcock’s Vertigo (1958), who both fight for the title. Vertigo is an other movie who fits into my definition. In fact, this debate simply proves us that many movies could be considered the best movie of all times. And, in a way, this will always be kind of a subjective choice, but we have to be as much objective as possible.

Casablanca

On my side, I’ve always thought of Casablanca (Michael Curtiz, 1942) as the best movie ever made and it’s the same story for Sunset Boulevard (Billy Wilder, 1950), but these are just examples, because many movies could be considered “the best movie ever made”.

What do you think of that? Which movie pop-up automatically in your head when you think of “the best movie of all times”?

Sunset Boulevard

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Movie

  1. have to say It’s a wonderful life. It’s my favorite movie but also a perfect movie IMHO.
    great acting, direction screenplay and hold us after many multiple viewings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course Mike! I agree with you! As I said, many movies could be considered the best movie of all time. Casablanca and Sunset Boulevard are the first that come up in my mind when I think of that, but they also are movies that I love. 🙂

      Like

  2. This is a very interesting topic. I say Citizen Kane is indeed the best movie of all time. Personally, I think Casablanca and Vertigo are also in the top 5. I don’t agree with The Godfather always being ranked SO HIGH on every list, but it’s a fantastic film nonetheless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

