Enchanting Grace Kelly

Grace Kelly

November 12: Today, it’s Grace Kelly’s birthday. She’s one of my very favourite actresses (number 2, more precisely) so I’ll take the occasion to explain how much I appreciate her.

Grace Kelly is maybe the actress that I know the most: her cinema’s career and her personal life. This summer, I read a biography of her and I learn many interesting things. For example, did you know that she loved to cook hamburgers?! Grace Kelly had great qualities, but she also had some imperfections. Yes, she wasn’t perfect. She was a human being and that makes me love her more for that. I also saw most of her movies, the only ones that I haven’t seen are 14 Hours and Green Fire. I will. I want them all. She didn’t have a long cinema’s career, but she had a brilliant one. Already thanks to her third movie, Mogambo, she received an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting actress. She would have to wait for Oscar 1955 to actually win the Best Actress Oscar. That was for her stunning performance in the drama The Country Girl directed by George Seaton in 1954. Grace Kelly also brilliantly starred in three of the best Hitchcock’s movies: Dial M for Murder, Rear Window and To Catch a Thief. Even if she won the Oscar for The Country Girl, we have to say that it’s Hitchcock who made her a star, a cinema icon. Grace Kelly’s second film was High Noon. This is my favourite western and she is lovely in it. She has a supporting role, but the movie wouldn’t have been the same without her. We also saw Grace Kelly in The Bridges at Toko-Ri, Green Fire, The Swan (where she played a princess) and in High Society. This last Grace Kelly’s movie revels us a Grace Kelly full of humour and makes us say: “Too sad it was her last movie!” In this video, you will see how funny and lovely she was in this film. 🙂

Grace Kelly is one of the first classic actresses that I discovered. I saw some picture of her and I thought she was stunning. I know beauty is not everything, but, like Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly is an icon. So I felt like I had to see one of her films. Just to see if she was a great actress and how her beauty was shown on screen. Well, one day, by coincidence, High Noon was on TV so I watched it with my parent and understood that Grace Kelly was not only beautiful, she was talented. She had such a presence! And that’s the case for all her movies. After, I saw To Catch a Thief. She fascinated me in this one. I had the chance to see this one on big screen. That’s the same for Dial M for Murder, The Country Girl and The Swan. Grace Kelly’s performances are always memorable. My favourite movie of her is Rear Window, but I also LOVE High Noon, To Catch a Thief, Dial M for Murder and High Society.

Grace Kelly

In 1956, Grace Kelly left Hollywood and married Rainier III, the prince of Monaco, and became the princess of Monaco. Unfortunately, she never made a movie during her princess life, but her heart always belonged to cinema. Was she happy? Was she in love with Rainier? These are difficult questions to answer. Anyway, we know that, as a princess, she had done many good things for the triumph of Monaco and was very devoted to her princess role. But that doesn’t prevent the fact that her fans would have loved to see her continue her brilliant cinema’s career.

Grace Kelly

Grace Kelly left us too soon. She died in 1982, age 52. This was an extremely sad ending for the princess. Today, I bet she is  on her little pink cloud in heaven, maybe drinking a tea with William Holden and happy to see that she was never forgotten and never will be. Each time I saw a Grace Kelly’s movie, there’s a smile on my face. That’s explain how I love her and care about her. She is an inspiration for me, a living dream. Happy birthday Grace Kelly! 🙂

Grace Kelly

2 thoughts on “Enchanting Grace Kelly

Leave a Reply

