Mrs Miniver: Live the War

Mrs Miniver

As it is directed by one of my very favourite movie director, William Wyler, I really had to see this movie. Mrs Miniver was directed in 1942, and many great actors starred in it: Greer Garson, Walter Pidgeon, Teresa Wright, Dame May Whitty, Henry Travers and many more. This excellent drama won some important Oscars: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress (Greer Garson), Best Supporting Actress, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography (black & white) and The Outstanding Motion Picture Award. It tells the story of Mrs Miniver, an english lady and her family at the very beginning of the World War Two. It’s a hard time for the Miniver and their friends as the country is destroyed by the german’s bombings.

That was the 7th William Wyler’s movie that I saw and I was very not disappointed. William Wyler’s films are always great and that was really one of the best I saw. What I found very interesting in that film, it’s the fact that it shows us the life of Mr and Mrs everybody living the war. It shows us how destructive this war was and how it makes innocent victims. For this reason, this movie is really touching, but also breaks your heart. Even if I never lived The World War Two, I could perfectly feel what those people were feeling during this very hard and sad time of the 20th Century. As I watched the extremely sad, but beautifully directed ending, I had a lump in my throat and I was repeating to myself “this is so sad, but this movie is so fantastic”. The last shot, when we saw the group of planes passing over the church was just the perfect image to finish the movie. Ok, I’m writing this text and I have tears in my eyes. See how it got me!

We can not talk about Mrs. Miniver and not talk about the excellent actor’s performances in this film. Greer Garson who played the leading role couldn’t have been better. She played someone very human, very good and very sensitive. Just the way she looked at the other characters, is magic and so deeply beautiful. Teresa Wright also deserved her Oscar. As you know, she is my 9th favourite actress, so I was very happy to see another movie with her. She played a lovely young lady, the kind of person you can never be angry with. Walter Pidgeon and Dame May Whitty also gave us great performances and, in my opinion, Henry Travers was at his best in this film. It really makes me appreciate more this talented character actor.

Mrs Miniver is the kind of movie that you are, yes, sad after watching it, but also very happy, because you can say to yourself: “That was an excellent movie.” And you can say it without hesitation. I think it’s a movie everybody should see to understand and other side of the war and to understand how much William Wyler’s films are almost perfect. Anyway, I really enjoy this movie, as you can see, and I surely will see it many other times.

Mrs Miniver

2 thoughts on “Mrs Miniver: Live the War

Leave a Reply

