Top of the World: My 15 favourite Films Noir

Along with Screwball Comedy, Film Noir has always been one of my favourite movie genres. Well, it’s not really a movie genre, but more a current, an ideology. Anyway, today I want to present you a top of my 15 favourite Films Noir. Some of these are not often list as favourite Noirs, so you’ll have a quite original list.

So, here we go!

1- Strangers on a Train (Alfred Hitchcock, 1951)
446683photoLInconnuduNordExpressStrangersonaTrain19519
2- Shadow of a Doubt (Alfred Hitchcock, 1943)
shadow1
3- Sunset Boulevard (Billy Wilder, 1950)
0044556.JPG
4- The Night of the Hunter (Charles Laughton, 1955)
79
5- Rebecca (Alfred Hitchcock, 1940)
Rebecca2
6- Spellbound (Alfred Hitchcock, 1945)
5-things-you-might-not-know-about-hitchcock-surreal-thriller-spellbound
7- 14 Hours (Henry Hathaway, 1951)
14hours
8- Gaslight (George Cukor, 1944)
gaslight2
9- Born to Kill (Robert Wise, 1947)
still-of-walter-slezak-and-claire-trevor-in-born-to-kill-(1947)-large-picture
10- Gun Crazy (Joseph H. Lewis, 1950)
film-le-demon-des-armes5
11- Mildred Pierce (Michael Curtiz, 1945)
Crawford, Joan (Mildred Pierce)_01
12- The Dark Mirror (Robert Siodmak, 1946)
tumblr_m6i43w7YNJ1qj45bbo1_1280
13- Angel Face (Otto Preminger, 1952)
100NoirsAngelFace
14- Laura (Otto Preminger, 1944)
laura-1944-dana-andrews-gene-tierney
15- Crossfire (Edward Dmytryck, 1947)
crossfire_1947_t620
Some of these films are sometimes categorized as Noirs, sometimes they are not. It always depends of the person, the book or the website. Here I’m thinking of Rebecca, 14 Hours, Gaslight and Mildred Pierce. However, they all have something “noir” so I think they can make the list if you like them.
You might also have notice the absence of some of the most famous, and sometimes considered greatest Films Noir of all times: Out of the Past, The Third Man, The Maltese Falcon and Double Indemnity. These are great films, but I wouldn’t include them in my top 15, probably in a top 20. I think I prefer more “unusual” Noirs like Angel Face or Spellbound.
And, of course, many Hitchcock’s films. Well, what did you expect from me? 😉
See you soon with another top!
11 thoughts on “Top of the World: My 15 favourite Films Noir

  1. Interesting list! I don’t know if you watch many French films but they have a few classics that fit the “noir” label – “Touchez Pas au Grisbi”, “The Murderer Lives At Number 21” “Le Corbeau” and “Les Espions” – you might want to check out to boost your viewing tally . 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice list, very personal and Hitchcock oriented. Have you ever seen Detour and Kiss Me Deadly? Because if you like unusual Noirs you’ll probably be interested in those two. Personally, I’ve seen so many that I become bored of the genre, if I can call it a genre. it was a saturation of viewings. I prefer contemporary Noirs now. But if I have to make a list it would be very difficult. Might be a future feature.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

