Top of the World: Ten 1939’s Films

1939 is often known as THE year  for films (at least, for Hollywood’s films). Many amazing films were produced this year. A year that marked history as we know.

No less then nine 1939’s films were nominated for the Best Picture. Just to give you an idea on how prolific it was.

Now, let me present you my top 10 1939’s films. Probably a top full of surprise. I guess, at least one of your favourites will be on my list (well, I hope!)

Of course, this top 10 is purely subjective and based on my personal choices.

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (surprised not to see GWTW as number 1?)

220px-Smith_goes

Gone With the Wind (ok, here it is)

v1.bTsxMTE2ODA5MjtqOzE3MDQxOzIwNDg7ODAwOzEyMDA

Golden Boy

21621-golden-boy-0-230-0-345-crop

Each Dawn I Die

movieposter

Invisible Stripes

invisible-stripes-movie-poster-1939-1020526717

Wuthering Heights

Wuthering_Heights_(1939_film)

Stagecoach

stagecoach-poster-2

A Girl Must Live (the only non-Hollywood film on the list. A very amusing film!)

A_Girl_Must_Live-143094403-large

Made for Each Other

Made_for_Each_Other-_1939-_Poster

Destry Rides Again

Poster - Destry Rides Again (1939)_01

I know, no Wizard of Oz. I’m not that much enthusiast about this film.

I wish “Ninotchka”, “The Women” and “Goodbye Mr. Chips” could have been on my list because they’re movies I really want to see, but haven’t got the chance to, yet.

Hope you appreciated! (if not, well, I don’t give a damn! ahah)

What are some of your favourites 1939’s films?

 

 

14 thoughts on “Top of the World: Ten 1939’s Films

  1. Love your list (especially the surprise movies)! I think one of my favorites of 1939 is Midnight, with Claudette Colbert. Bachelor Mother. I love Destry Rides Again, too!! the Hunchback of Notre Dame. I have been meaning to see Made for Each Other. Perhaps I’ll have to get a move on with that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Probably The Story of Vernon and Irene Castle would be there for me. One of Fred and gingers best films. I’ve never really been a huge fan of GWTW. It’s spectacular and well made but I just didn’t like Scarlett O’ Hara as a character-no matter how brilliantly played by Vivienne Leigh. I’d also include Ninotchka, The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Roaring Twenties and Dark Victory among others. So many classics were made in this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “The Women” is my second favorite movie of all time- you MUST see it, Virginie. “On Borrowed Time” and “The Rains Came” are two of my all-time favorites. I also love “Dark Victory” and “Love Affair”. Although I love Judy Garland, I also don’t care for “The Wizard of Oz”- as a young boy, it scared me; as an adult, it bores me.

    Like

  4. My list for 1939 is 11 movies–because I simply couldn’t bear to leave any of these off. And, after all, it’s 1939.

    Gone with the Wind
    The Wizard of Oz
    The Hunchback of Notre Dame
    Wuthering Heights
    The Old Maid
    Ninotchka
    Bachelor Mother
    The Women
    First Love
    The Four Feathers
    Love Affair

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

