The Wonderful World of Cinema’s 5th Anniversary! +Q & A Launching!

Capture d’écran 2019-10-21 à 15.58.34

What does The Wonderful World of Cinema and My Fair Lady have in common? They both celebrate their anniversary on October 21st! Well, there’s a gap of 50 years between them. Indeed, while the lovely musical has been released 55 years ago today, my blog, on its side, has been created already 5 years ago! Oh, also. It’s elections in Canada today. So, a lot of big things are happening today!

plus-jack-warner-19641
The premiere of My Fair Lady!

Anyway, time surely flies, but, in a way, this seems very far in my memory. I was doing a screenwriting certificate at the University of Quebec in Montreal at the time (my only year of university in French. Not that it’s necessarily a good thing – just a fact). I remember writing my blog at the school library and choosing the design. I wanted something that looked lovely and fun. I guess that green colour you see on my blog was my definition of that. Oh, also, I chose the Kelly theme because it reminded me of Grace Kelly. Now you know lol.

grace-kelly-may-2010-archive

But I certainly feel I have accomplished a lot in 5 years (some of my fellow bloggers celebrated their 10 or 15th anniversary recently. THAT is impressive). Apart from the blogging awards I’ve won over the years, the big change since the last anniversary is that I’m now and finally a member of The Classic Movie Blog Association! It was CMBA Awards season recently, and my Tribute to Jean Simmons was one of the 5 finalists in the Best Classic Film Article category! I didn’t win, but I’m still pretty proud to have been one of the finalists.

19463498

I’ve also recently created my first blogging series (as you probably know), the Carry On Blog Series. And, to go on with the good news, The Wonderful World of Cinema’s Facebook page is about to reach 10 000 likes! The blog itself is now followed by 360 people! I know these are “just numbers”, but I worked hard for these numbers, and I’m sure that you, fellow bloggers, can relate. 🙂

Capture d’écran 2019-09-30 à 10.31.27

And last but not least, I FINALLY went to the TCM Classic Film Festival!

Because 5 is such a special number, I’ve decided to launch a little Q & A for the occasion! So, you can ask me any questions about the blog or myself, and I will try to answer as many as possible in another blog post. Of course, I won’t be answering very personal questions, but that’s just common sense! Yes, that’s very cliché and not at all original, but I thought it would be fun to do! Please, use the comments section for your questions!

concealed-carry-digest

On each blogging anniversary, I like to share again an old post I wrote during my blogging beginnings. I think the occasion is good today to share again this article on Cecil Beaton’s Costume for My Fair Lady. I remember that was quite an interesting analysis to make!

Of course, I want to thanks all the bloggers who inspired me to create my own blog and the bloggers and non-bloggers we have followed my blog, read my articles, participate to in my blogathons, etc. over these five years! You have all been very encouraging!

Don’t forget the Q & A, and here’s to five more beautiful years!

tumblr_bd49d57ede25a9dc6f395091e8a8a375_71f96045_500

9 thoughts on “The Wonderful World of Cinema’s 5th Anniversary! +Q & A Launching!

  1. Happy 5th, Ginnie. I love your blog so much. I always look forward to a new review or article from you. Here’s to the next 5 years.

    Which of your articles from the last 5 years are you most proud of and why?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, how impressive! My Fair Lady is one of my favorite musicals so that’s definitely a cool coincidence. I hope that one day my little blog will be 5 years old, too. Congratulations to you ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on achieving this milestone. The fact that you have continued to grow and improve during that time makes it even more wonderful. I always enjoy reading your articles. It’s clear you not only put a lot of time and energy into them, but also a lot of heart/passion.

    I’m curious, who are some classic film actors/actresses that you think are overrated or you just don’t enjoy?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Anniversary. Got a wee list of 5 questions from over here, 1. if you could ghostwrite for any celebrity’s autobiography (celebrity can be alive or dead) who would you write for. 2. And question number two who would you pick as your dream acting line up for a movie, and for what movie. 3. Which is your favourite acting related biography or autobiography, 4. Who would you like to be stuck in a lift with if you could pick anyone from entertainment and 5. Which 5 bloggers do you admire?.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment