Why do I love classic films?

Grace Kelly in High Noon (1952)

Because I’m a young girl, many people ask me how I came to watch and love classic films. There are many factors that made me want to watch them. You have to know that, when I was a child, I didn’t want to watch “old movies”. These didn’t interest me. I only wanted to watch Harry Potter!

One day, my father talked to me about The Birds, this famous Alfred Hitchcock’s movie released in 1963. The way he talked about it, it just seemed to be a very interesting movie. When I finally watched it, I was very impressed by it, especially by the editing. It was nothing like I had seen before. It was scary, but captivating too. So, that’s one of the first classic movies that I had an interest for. Another one was Modern Times directed by Charlie Chaplin in 1936. I remember, my history teacher in my second grade of High School, presented to us a part of this movie. I really enjoyed it, so I decided to rent it so I could watch it all. I have seen this movie so many times now, but I always enjoy watching it.

Now, I want to talk to you about three movies that I discovered on television. One of them was Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, directed by Howard Hawks in 1953. I wanted to watch it because it was a Marilyn Monroe’s film and she is an icon. In my opinion, it’s a MUST to see a Marilyn Monroe’s film. Everybody talks about her, everybody says “Oh yes, I know her!”, but not many people have seen one of her films. I really enjoyed it. It was original, funny and very different from the other musicals that I had seen before. The second one was High Noon, directed by Fred Zinnemann in 1952. This is our family-western. One day, my parents were watching it on TV, so I came in the living room and watched a part with them. For them too, it was their first viewing. This first time, I didn’t have time to watch the entire movie, but the same TV channel presented it many times after, so we had the occasion to plan a cinema night and watch it from the beginning until the end. This was also my first Grace Kelly’s and my first Gary Cooper’s movie. Grace Kelly is now my 2nd favourite actress and Gary Cooper is my 9th favourite actor. Finally, the 3rd classic that I discovered on television was The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, directed by Sergio Leone in 1966, the year my mother was born. What grabbed my attention here was Clint Eastwood’s excellent acting, but also the music. Those two elements were so bewitching!

So, I can say that the five movies that made me discover classics are: The Birds, Modern Times, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, High Noon and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.

I also discovered classics and cinema in general when I visited the Museum of Cinema in Torino. A must see for cinema’s fans.

Finally, there’s also a book that made me want to watch old movies. The name is “Stars de cinema”. It’s a book with a lot of pictures of stars from every decade. I decided to buy it because the pictures in it were very beautiful. I had fun to learn actors and actresses names with this book. 🙂 Sometimes, when the book mentioned a movie that seemed interesting, I decided to watch it and, most of the time, I enjoyed it.

So, that’s the way I discovered classic films and classic stars!

3 thoughts on “Why do I love classic films?

Leave a Reply

