Top of the World: Olivia de Havilland Turns 101!

Olivia-de-Havilland

Today, the strong, lovely, talented, legendary Olivia de Havilland is turning 101 years old and we are very lucky to still have her with us! Aging gracefully, she certainly is one of the most beautiful women of that age! For the occasion, Crystal from In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood and Laura from Phyllis Loves Classic Movies are hosting The Second Olivia de Havilland Blogathon + Eroll Flynn!

tz0imgprjv7qydddrcwg

For the occasion, I’ve decided to present you a top 10 of my most favourite Olivia de Havilland’s films! Remember, these are my personal favourites, so it’s purely subjective. I ask you to respect my choices.

Just to give you an idea, I’ve seen a total of 12 of her films so far.

Here we go!

10. A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Max Reinhardt and William Dieterle, 1935)

I’m not THAT much a fan of this film, but I’ve decided to put it at #10 as 1- It has to be praised for the excellent performances (including Olivia’s one), 2- A Midsummer Night’s Dream remains, after all, my favourite Shakespeare play, 3- I love the magic and poetry embodied by the dreaming cinematography and 4- the two other ones I saw, The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex and Santa Fe Trail left me a bit indifferent.

a-midsummer-night-s-dream-olivia-de-havilland-1935_orig

9. Hush… Hush… Sweet Charlotte (Robert Aldrich, 1964)

Quite a creepy film, but I’ve always found Olivia de Havilland’s performance quite interesting as it is very different from the innocent Melanie Hamilton for example! And who would say no to a film reuniting her, Bette Davis, Joseph Cotten and Agnes Moorehead?

Olivia-de-Havilland-Hush-Hush-Sweet-Charlotte-1964

8. The Proud Rebel (Michael Curtiz, 1958)

This western was the last collaboration between Curtiz and De Havilland. Somehow it’s not too well-known, but I think it deserves more recognition. It’s a beautiful film and our Livie is absolutely touching in it.

f684cd832205bd1d1705807141be380c

7. My Cousin Rachel (Henry Koster, 1952)

One thing: I STILL have to read the book by Daphné du Maurier. Ok, this film contains his flaws, but it remains an appreciable one to see. Olivia is quite fascinating playing this ambiguous Rachel! Who is she really?! This film is a good way to size her versatility as an actress.

MCR-3

6. The Strawberry Blonde (Raoul Walsh, 1941)

I actually just watched this movie today in honour of the celebrated one! I quite enjoyed it! It was a lot of fun. Olivia and James Cagney (such a great actor!) looked just adorable together. The presence of Rita Hayworth and Jack Carson was, of course, highly appreciated as well. A good comedy movie to watch when you feel like not concentrating too much!

strawberry-blonde-the-1941-001-olivia-de-havilland-in-hat-leaning-on-james-cagney

5. The Dark Mirror (Robert Siodmak, 1946)

I’ve always loved psychological movies and this one makes no exception to the rule. Playing two roles in one film never looks like an easy task, but, here, Olivia did it wonderfully. A fascinating film.

0b41fd01-2017-4749-b8c0-6d386c41485f

4. The Adventures of Robin Hood (Michael Curtiz and William Keighley, 1938)

Of course, we all like the collaborations between Olivia de Havilland and Errol Flynn. This one has to be my favourite one without hesitation. Olivia is so lovely as Lady Marian and the film itself is a wonderful entertainment!

1454422905-56b0bb79e635f-005-the-adventures-of-robin-hood-theredlist

3. The Snake Pit (Anatole Litvak, 1948)

I’ve said that I’ve always loved psychological movies. Well, this one is another great example. I love to see the evolution of the characters in these. Here, Olivia de Havilland certainly gives one of her best and more challenging performances. She received an Oscar nomination for her performance.

snakepit182

2. The Heiress (William Wyler, 1949)

And happy birthday to William Wyler, who was born on July 1st too! Well, if Olivia won her second Oscar with this film, it’s not without reasons. An extraordinary performance, full of subtleties and perfectly calculated. She gives an extraordinary essence to her character and it’s hard to surpass her. I’ve loved this film since the first time I saw it. Of course, I don’t think William Wyler ever made a bad film…

Olivia-de-Havilland-Heiress-1949 (2)

And…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

  1. Gone With the Wind (Victor Flemming, 1939)

Ok, I know, this is not a very creative #1, but what can I say? I love the film ok! There would be so much to say about it, but for what concerns Olivia, she illuminates the screen and is in perfect harmony with the rest of the cast. I couldn’t think of anyone better to portray Melanie Hamilton. This is the first film of hers I saw. What a great introduction to her filmography! 🙂

olivia-de-havilland-gone-with-wind-today-150701-01_91facaff70c13da0d3512b461e8b010f.today-inline-large

***

Well, that’s it! Of course, don’t hesitate to share your choices with me!

I want to thank Crystal and Laura for hosting this amazing blogathon. Please take a look at the other entries here:

The Second Olivia de Havilland Blogathon + Errol Flynn Day 1

Happy 101 birthday dear Olivia!

giphy

9 thoughts on “Top of the World: Olivia de Havilland Turns 101!

  1. Great list! I’ve seen quite a bit of her films but I have yet to watch 10, 8, and 3. Thanks for sharing your top ten for the Blogathon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful post. I am not very familiar with her but definitely have a look at some of her movies. Thanks for the Blogathon – it brought a great actress to my attention (yes, I knew the name but that was about all, aside from Gone with the Wind but can’t remember that one very well at all). I have lots of watching to do 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think I could make up my mind and make a list like this – I’d come back and change the order many times! But I agree with so many, like My Cousin Rachel and Olivia’s acting range, and also how she was perfect to play Melanie.
    Kisses!
    Le

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cool list! I think more people need to know about The Proud Rebel, as it’s got really lovely performances by both Olivia de Havilland and Alan Ladd, both playing stubborn, strong, misunderstood people.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have so many Olivia films to catch up on, it’s ridiculous. However, I would recommend Dodge City, Princess O’Rourke, and Hold Back the Dawn. All quite different but all lovely showcases of Olivia’s talent.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment