Announcing the Jean Harlow Blogathon!

db3fa40df3e9633e9f053216ca73f4e0

Some time ago, my friend blogger Samantha from Musings of a Classic Film Addict suggested we should host a blogathon together. I love her blog so, of course, the idea was highly appealing to me! After looking at some possible subjects (there are so many!), we finally made the choice to host a blogathon in honour of the lovely Jean Harlow who would have been 108 years old next March 3rd.

Despite her short life (and therefore short career), Jean Harlow became one of the most iconic actresses of Hollywood classic films era. She was the original blonde bombshell and inspired post-celebrities like Marilyn Monroe and even Madonna. We believe this underrated actress deserves to be honour in the blogosphere and we are hoping to have as many participants as possible!

10eb4a03b8128c99e8c96c33b48b0b3d

If you wish to participate, make sure to take a look at these few rules first!

1- Choose a subject. It can be anything related to Jean Harlow. Simply tells us your subject in the comment or send us an email at virginie.pronovost@gmail.com or samanthadeanellis@yahoo.com. Please provide the name of your blog and its URL.

  • Because her career wasn’t very long, we will allow duplicates, but a maximum of two persons on the same subject.
  • You can write more than one entry, but we decided to go for a maximum of 3 entries/person.
  • Can I participate if I don’t have a blog? Sure. Simply tell us which subject you would like to cover and we’ll add you to the roster. On the blogathon dates, you can send me your text via email and I’ll add it to my blog as a guest post.

2- Once your subject has been approved, please choose one of these beautiful banners created by Samantha and include it on your blog to help us promote the event.

rekoxo_r

4zmf5we4

3hjypdyh

1zu835ws

3- The blogathon will start on March 1st and will end on March 3rd, 2019. When it will begin, we will publish a new post where you’ll be able to submit your entry.

4- If you have any question, please don’t hesitate to ask.

***

Subjects already claimed twice:

Bombshell

Our list of participants

Musings of A Classic Film AddictChina Seas (1935)

The Wonderful World of Cinema Hell’s Angels (1930)

The Flapper DameDinner At Eight (1933)

Maddy Loves Her Classic Films – Tribute to Jean Harlow

The Old Hollywood GardenWife vs. Secretary (1936)

Poppity Talks Classic FilmSuzy (1936)

The Stop ButtonRed Dust  (1932)

In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood Bombshell (1933)

Overture Books and Films The Girl from Missouri (1934)

Silver Screen Classics Libeled Lady (1936)

Sleepwalking in Hollywood – Jean Harlow’s Relationship with Paul Bern

Portraits by Jenni Three Wise Girls (1932)

Screen DreamsBombshell (1933)

Taking Up Room Platinum Blonde (1931)

Critíca Retrô – Jean’s beauty tips

Pale Writer Saratoga (1937)

Dan Patterson (Guest at The Wonderful World of Cinema) – Red Headed Woman (1932)

***

I’m looking forward to celebrating Jean Harlow with you and Samantha! We sure hope you’ll enjoy this event!

To read Samantha’s announcement, please click here.

See you!

dvp5

 

34 thoughts on “Announcing the Jean Harlow Blogathon!

  1. Hi Virginie. Unfortunately, I’m going to have to change my topic choice. I can’t find my book on James Cagney, and there are none online that I can download. I have to think up another idea. I would write about “Dinner At Eight”, but I see it as a follow up to “Grand Hotel”, which is my second favorite movie, and I don’t really like writing about the same film as somebody else. I also don’t want to miss the blogathon entirely, as I’ve skipped far too many blogathons.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment