Top of the World : 20 favourite new-to-me movies watched in 2023

I’m back! It’s been a while! First, let me take the occasion to wish you all a very happy new year, 2024! I also hope you had a lovely Christmas if you were celebrating. As indicated by this article’s title, I’m back to continuing this tradition of presenting the best films I’ve seen during the previous year, namely 2023. Here, I’m talking about films I discovered for the first time in 2023, so it doesn’t only include films released in 2023 but also films from every decade. In 2023, I’ve watched a total of 75 new-to-me films, and I’ve selected a total of 20 for this top. Consequently, some great ones are missing, but I’ll give a few honourable mentions at the end.

Before going further, keep in mind that there are some films I remember loving, but they are a bit far in my memory for me to tell you exactly why I loved them. So, it might be hard to go into exact details as to why I included them at the top. Still, in one way or another, they impacted me positively. In the same order of ideas, similar to last year, this is not really an orderly top. The last four titles on the list might be my top 4, but the rest can be interchangeable. Many of these films are super different, so it’s hard to compare them and rank them among each other.

Last but not least, as always, these choices are 100 % subjective and only reflect my tastes and personal choices.

Without further ado, here we go!

Women in Love (Ken Russell, 1969)

I had to include some Glenda Jackson films on that list since I spent a considerable time researching her and watching her films for an article I wrote for Séquences film magazine. Like most of Ken Russell’s films, I suspect that Women in Love is not necessarily an easily accessible movie and might not be for everybody. However, it stays with you and is hard to forget. It’s worth seeing just for Glenda Jackson’s performance alone, for which she won her first Best Actress Oscar. The film also made me want to see more of Alan Bates (whom I had only previously seen in Silvio Narizzano’s Georgy Girl). Another aspect of the film that impressed me was the beautiful cinematography by Billy Williams, who surely knew how to create visual poetry.

A Face in the Crowd (Elia Kazan, 1957)

It would be difficult not to include this impressively ahead-of-its-time film. We see the rise and fall of a nobody who becomes hugely famous on national television and uses his power and influence to do more harm than good around him. The guy played by Andy Griffith is over the top, and it’s interesting to see the contrast between those fooled by his words and actions and those who see through his game. The underrated Lee Remick made her debut with that film!

Sunday Bloody Sunday (John Schlesinger, 1971)

It’s difficult to go wrong with any film directed by Schlesinger. I personally loved Billy Liar (1963) and Darling (1965), but pictures like Sunday Bloody Sunday and Marathon Man (1976) are also worthy of mention (I yet have to see Midnight Cowboy). Sunday was pretty daring for its time, presenting a bisexual love triangle. I liked how the whole thing was presented without flames and explosions. It is the way it is, and that’s it. My only regret was the too-short apparition of Jon Finch. Shout out also to an older Bessie Love, who plays the answering service lady. It’s a small role, but she steals the show for a minute and is quite amusing.

Elizabeth Is Missing (Aisling Walsh, 2019)

Elizabeth Is Missing is a TV movie directed by Aisling Walsh, who also made the very good Maudie (2016) about artist Maud Dowley. Elizabeth is an intriguing and also utterly sad film about a woman with Alzheimer’s disease who tries to investigate her friend’s disappearance when the latter doesn’t show up at their daily meeting. Glenda Jackson is genuinely incredible and poignant in the role. Remember that this was her first on-screen role after a pause of over 20 years for a prolific political career at the heart of the Labour Party. That woman was a machine!

The Banshees of Inisherin (Martin McDonagh, 2022)

Ah, yes! That definitely was one of the best films of 2022. The premise is simple but leads to a complex development. Imagine one day, your best friend randomly tells you he or she doesn’t want to be your friend anymore! Not many of us would know how to react. But aside from the brilliant screenplay, the outstanding performances and Jenny, the adorable mini donkey, Banshees certainly makes you want to explore some beautiful Irish landscapes and drink a lot of Guinness.

The Killer Is Loose (Budd Boetticher, 1956)

That might be the least-known film on the list, but it’s worth visiting. It stars Joseph Cotten, Rhonda Fleming and Wendell Corey. And the latter is why I had to include it on my list. I never thought much of him as an actor. He’s always been okay but not necessarily a scene-stealer. However, viewing The Killer Is Loose positively changed my opinion of him. He plays a murderer, cold and terrifying. It is one of his best roles. The film has excellent suspense and could have been directed by Alfred Hitchcock. So, if you’re also a fan of The Master of Suspense, I recommend trying it.

Pearl (Ti West, 2022)

I watched that film last Halloween with my friends. I’m usually not really a horror movie person, but I’m ready to give it a try once in a while. I hate jump scares, but luckily, there weren’t too many of them in Pearl. Anyway, I sincerely appreciated my viewing and thought the fact that everything was very colourful and bright (most of the action takes place during the daytime) gave it an interesting perspective and was a good change from all those horror movies with dark corners. The pond with the alligators was a nice touch.

Wings (William A. Wellman, 1927)

As you may know, Wings was the first film to win the Best Picture Oscar. It’s an epic adventure set in the Army Air Service during the First World War. The film is impressive for its innovative filming techniques. Personally, I’ve always liked aviation stuff (I don’t really know why. I think it’s stylish). So, those plane scenes were pretty impressive, although maybe not as impressive as in Hell’s Angels (Howard Hughes, 1930), in my opinion. And, of course, how can we forget that famous travelling at the Follies Bergères!

The Good Fairy (William Wyler, 1935)

William Wyler is better known for films like Ben-Hur (1959), The Best Years of Our Lives, and Roman Holidays (1953). Still, his rich filmography has a few hidden gems, such as The Good Fairy. That is what we could describe as “a cute little film”. It’s nothing revolutionary but will make you live an agreeable moment and is perfect when you don’t want to watch something too demanding. A friend on Facebook recommended that film, but watching another film with Margaret Sullavan that is on this list definitely made me want to see it. This charming romantic comedy has everything to please classic film fans as Wyler directed it and Preston Sturges wrote it! As soon as I knew this, I knew I was in for a treat!

Tu dors Nicole You’re Sleeping, Nicole (Stéphane Lafleur, 2014)

I knew about the existence of that film since its release but had kept myself from watching it because I thought the title sounded boring. I know it’s best not to judge a book by its cover. Earlier this year, I was talking about this film with someone who highly recommended that I see it. I also saw a clip on YouTube, watched the trailer, and thought it looked pleasant. So, I decided to give it a go. It feels like a film where there’s indeed not much happening, but then you realise that there’s more than it seems on the surface. I thought it was mesmerising, and I’m glad I finally saw it!

The Patsy (King Vidor, 1928)

After reading the excellent Captain of Her Soul: The Life of Marion Davies by Lara Gabrielle, I wanted to discover more films starring this intriguing and profoundly underrated actress. The Patsy was high on my list, and I had fun watching it from the beginning until the end! Marion was a lively comedian, and her liveliness was contagious. I loved her complicity with Dell Henderson, who plays her father in the film. The film also stars Marie Dressler, who is always good, and although it was released in 1928, it felt like a breath of fresh air.

The Crow (Alex Proyas, 1994)

I have to thank the band The Cure for making me discover this film. Last May (or was it June?), I saw them in concert, and they played the song Burn. I had never heard it before, but it was one of my favourite parts of the concert. Anyway, I later learned that it was in The Crow‘s soundtrack. I had heard of the film, of course, mainly due to Brandon Lee’s tragic death during the shooting. It was somewhere on my long watch list, but that song made me want to see it even more. It’s usually not the kind of film I watch, but I’m glad I gave it a chance. A pretty efficient story of revenge.

I Wake Up Screaming (H. Bruce Humberstone, 1941)

That is another film that was an unexpectedly great surprise. Of course, it’s hard to go wrong with a film noir, even with the lesser ones. I came across the existence of that film while reading two blog articles on it during the Betty Grable Blogathon. I was intrigued to see what Grable would be like in a film noir and a more dramatic role. Well, one thing is certain: it was different from the film I reviewed for the blogathon, Million Dollar Legs. And Bette was a good dramatic actress! I wished she had done more of this type of role. Aside from that, it’s a story that hooks you with its intrigue and presents some unexpected turns. By the way, I watched that film on a YouTube channel called Film Noir Matinees, and if you love noirs as much as I do, I recommend exploring it. It’s worth it! The films are presented by a guy nicknamed The Detective (whose voice is way too similar to George Segal’s). He presents the film and gives a few insights. It’s very pleasant!

Murder by Contract (Irving Lerner, 1958)

That later noir is perhaps not the most mentioned of the genre, but if you want to see something that feels different from the more traditional film noirs and seems to be a bridge towards something else, give this one a go. The film is simple but sticks with you for how it’s made with its sort of sense of coolness and modernism, which is highly emphasised by Perry Botkin’s jazzy score. There’s something a bit French new wave about it. The score distanced itself from the more traditional orchestral music you could hear in films at the time, similar to what Anton Karas did for The Third Man (Carol Reed, 1949). Interestingly, it’s a film that apparently influenced Martin Scorsese a lot!

Les chambres rougesRed Rooms (Pascal Plante, 2023)

Ahh… That one should be on many people’s lists of the best 2023 films. I saw it at the movie theatre with my friend and was riveted to the screen from the beginning to the end. I could barely move in my seat as much as I was captivated. It’s an impressively efficient thriller that gives a different perspective on “true-crime” stories. We don’t have much of this type of film in Quebec, so I think many people appreciate its existence. I believe it will be (or it has?) released in the United States. So, try to see it if you have the occasion!

Barbie (Greta Gerwig, 2023)

YES, I LOVED BARBIE, OK?! I won’t be snub and pretend I was above this very commercial and very pink film. But, what made the film even better for me was the whole experience and marketing campaign around it, which was one of the best made for a film in recent years. To give you an idea, I was taking walks, and each time I saw something pink, I automatically thought of the film, even if it was flowers that people planted in front of their houses ten years ago. I went to see the film pretty soon after its release. I went with a friend and the theatre was packed with people dressed in pink. I had bought pink stuff at the thrift shop the day before (I was that much dedicated). It was very festive! Then, we went to a bar where one of the waitresses had created a pink “Barbie” cocktail and a blue “Ken” cocktail! But aside from all the stuff surrounding this real phenomenon of a film, the product itself was brilliant entertainment. The feminist message was interesting, and I never really thought much of Ryan Gosling, but I honestly liked him in that. Margot Robbie, as well, of course. Kudos to Greta Gerwig for being the first female director whose film gained over 1 billion at the box office!

Ok, while the previous films on the list were not in a particular order (or a very approximative one), the rest is a top 4 in the right order, so my top 4 favourite film discoveries in 2023. 

4- T.A.M.I. Show (Steve Binder, 1964)

In 2023, not only did I have the chance to see restored versions of some of my very favourite concert films, Stop Making Sense (Jonathan Demme, 1984) and Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (D. A. Pennebaker, 1979), on the big screen, but I discovered new-to-me ones for an article I was writing for Séquences. T.A.M.I. Show was definitely among the best surprises of the lot. That is a concert film for fans of early 60s rock and roll music with lots of “shoo-bee-doo-waa”, voice harmonies, jazz hands and contagious energy from the performers and the crowd. The show features legendary artists from that period, such as Leslie Gore, Chuck Berry, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, The Supremes and even The Rolling Stones, who were still a pretty emerging band. They are all on the scene together at some point, which is a wonderful and almost unbelievable sight. The film itself isn’t necessarily impressive for its filming technique, but if you love music and want to have a good time, don’t miss it! Plus, it’s available for free on YouTube at a pretty fair visual quality. Special mention to Terri Garr, who was one of the dancers, and to the opening credits that immediately set you in the mood.

3- The Mortal Storm (Frank Borzage, 1940)

The Mortal Storm is the heartbreaking story of a family who is broken and friends who become rivals during the rise of nazism. Millions of films surrounding that theme have been released over the years, but Borzage’s gives a different perspective. This film caught my attention when someone on my Facebook page mentioned it. I was convinced to see it, just with this concise comment and a few other people’s replies. I won’t go into too much detail as to why this film has the 3rd position on my list because I wrote a very detailed article about it here. Anyway, I highly recommend it. It’s one of the films I’ve seen this year that I haven’t forgotten much about it since it stayed with me on many levels. There’s a particular scene… Well, read the article!

2- The Fabelmans (Steven Spielberg, 2022)

Well, this is definitely my favourite thing Spielberg has done in recent years. I loved that it was more personal and semi-autobiographical. Who doesn’t love a film about making films?? Spielberg is one of the most prolific directors of the New Hollywood era and still is today, but he had to start somewhere! The Fabelmans takes you in all sorts of directions and turns out to be a very moving and touching story, a true love letter to the 7th Art.

And finally…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Suspense!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Big suspense! Ohh!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

1- Show People (King Vidor, 1928)

Yep! I told you this was not a top that included only 2023 movies (far from it). Therefore, I guess the top one had to be a silent film released almost 100 years ago. And to be honest, before watching the film, I never suspected it would hold that position, but here we are. Just like The Patsy, it’s a film I had put on my list to see more of Marion Davies’s work. There was something very appealing about the film in how it was written about in Captain of her Soul. However, I was still going on carefully with that one since the only King Vidor films I had seen previously were Stella Dallas (1937) and Duel in the Sun (1946). I liked the first one (although it’s fucking sad), but not really Duel, even tho starred Jennifer Jones, Joseph Cotten and a very sexy Gregory Peck. Anyway, Show People is a real charm of a film that, like The Fabelmans, explores the film industry. Marion Davies and William Haines have a beautiful chemistry in a film truffled with many unforgettable, funny, touching, and sad situations. It’s an emotional experience. Some parts are pretty surrealistic, such as Chaplin’s cameo has himself asking for an autograph from Peggy Pepper, the character played by Marion Davies, or when Peggy Pepper meets Marion Davies. There are a ton of other cameos by big stars of that period. Show People is definitely among the best silent films I’ve seen and rightly deserves the first position on this list.

***

Special mentions

There are many other films I’ve seen that could have been on this list and that deserve special mentions, such as Smooth Talk (Joyce Chopra, 1985), Vampire humaniste cherche suicidaire consentant (Ariane Louis-Seize, 2023), Le plongeur (Francis Leclerc, 2023), The Last Waltz (Martin Scorsese, 1978), etc.

I’m hoping to make a lot of great film discoveries in 2024! Of course, don’t hesitate to tell me in the comments what your best film discoveries of 2023 were!

See you!

**Enjoy this blog’s content? Consider supporting The Wonderful World of Cinema HERE!**

13 thoughts on “Top of the World : 20 favourite new-to-me movies watched in 2023

  1. I loved your list, with so many favorites and also a few titles I had never heard about and are now luckily on my radar. Show People is on of my favorite silent movies, and I’m so glad you enjoyed it so much.
    Here to a 2024 full of great movies!
    Cheers!
    Le

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy to see Marion Davies on this list repeatedly! What a wonderful comedienne she was. I’m glad her reputation as a fine actress is being restored in recent decades. Also, The Fabelmans was great! I thoroughly enjoyed that one too. The acting was top notch and I loved how much you could sense Spielberg’s passion for cinema in it.

    I made a new to me favorites list of my own on my Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/nitrateglow/738262080258473984/favorite-films-discovered-in-2023?source=share

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Barbie” was awesome. I saw it on opening day! From the trailer it looked like it’d be a fun summer movie and I’m so happy that it didn’t let me down.

    I also love “A Face in the Crowd.” That is an amazing film and it’d be a great double feature with “Network.” I like to think of Howard Beale as Lonesome Rhodes 20 years later.

    I also loved “The Killer is Loose.” It was interesting seeing Wendell Corey as a villain and not as the second lead who loses the girl to the lead actor, or as the friend of the lead actor.

    “I Wake Up Screaming” is great, except I find the constant use of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” to be a bit weird and distracting. It also has a great title.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I had forgotten about Over the Rainbow but you’re right, that was a weird artistic choice! Agree that Network and A Face in the Crowd would make a great double feature. Thanks a lot for reading! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment